Lay It Down

One of the hardest concepts for me to grasp has always been to just “lay it down at the foot of the cross.” It is a nice notion, to be able to just give everything to my Savior, but how do I even begin to do that or what does it even mean in practical terms. But it clicked for me yesterday. I get it. And it is one of the most beautiful gifts I could ever receive. 

Laying it down at the foot of the cross doesn’t mean that all of the hurt and struggle goes away. It isn’t some magic thing where you just lay it down, it is a process. And I realize that I have been approaching it wrong this whole time. That I expected Jesus to just take it all the hurt, the challenges and to make things feel better. The problem there is that it was all based upon feelings. If the struggles continued then it is a battle where I am simply begging God to take it and saying that I am trying to lay it down and wondered why isn’t it changing. But what God actually promised was to carry the burden, that He would get me through anything that I faced. He never said it would be easy. David, a man after God’s heart wrote: “Even thought I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.” (Psalm 23:4) To me that says God will go with me, before, and comfort me. And that is enough. 

David writes later “Cast your burden on the Lord, and he will sustain you; he will never permit the righteous to moved.” (Psalm 55:22) The promise is that God will sustain me. That means he will comfort, carry, encourage and support. That is what it means to lay down a burden at the foot of the cross. It means giving up the control, it means bringing it all to light, and it means not having to carry that burden alone. It means that the burden is replaced with one that God gives, which is bearable. “Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” (Matthew 11:28-30) That is what it means to leave it all at the foot of the cross. It means being wrapped in the arms of love, having a shield of protection, and receiving the strength that Jesus provides. 

Laying something down means accepting the gift that God wants to give, the gift of a Savior. It means saying I can’t do this on my own. It is a way to say help guide me through this. It is a chance to say give me your eyes, your heart, your wisdom, teach me. Laying it down means having the opportunity to walk closer with Jesus and to let Him shepherd, love, and care for me. There is no better love than that of a God, a Savior who has called me to be a conqueror, a co-heir, one that is so madly in love with that he will take that burden and never forsake me. That is why I am going to lay it all down at the foot of the cross, to be covered in love, strength, and grace. I wouldn’t have it any other way. 

Leave a Reply

